Character Creation Challenge 28: Apocalypse World

This post-apocalyptic game exploded upon the rpg scene in 2010 and almost entirely swept away the indie / story games of the previous decade in a deluge of powered-by-the-apocalypse-games and has had lots of influence on mainstream game design. 

To create a character, I choose one of the “playbooks” provided in the rules. This gives me an archetype and lets me choose some details to make it my own. No one who knows me would be surprised that I chose the Brainer, the strange weirdo afflicted with psychic powers. I choose one string of stats, two moves particular to brainers, and a packet of gear.

Few AW PCs are entirely nice, but I think Burroughs here might be something of an unrepentant creep. Will they manage to salvage a scrap of humanity, or will they turn out to be a monster who only values the autonomy of others as a prize to conquer? We’ll have to play to find out!

Name: Burroughs

Playbook: Brainer

Look: Thin and frail to the point of skeletal, white as porcelain, entirely devoid of hair, wrapped in tattered robes. Has a strangely childlike voice.

Stats: Cool+1, Hard-2, Hot-1, Sharp+2, Weird+2

Brainer moves: Unnatural lust transfixion, In-brain puppet strings.

Gear: silenced 9mm (2-harm close hi-tech), violation glove (hand hi-tech), receptivity drugs (tag hi-tech), stab proof vest (1-armor), oddments worth 5-barter

This entry was posted in Character Creation Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment