Character Creation Challenge 26: Metamorphosis Alpha

The original science fiction game from 1976 (some would say science fantasy). The set-up, with a generation ship adrift in space, the descendants of its crew afflicted with strange mutations and no longer aware of the nature of their home, is familiar from sf-books such as Orphans of the Sky by Heinlein and Non-Stop by Aldiss. The game would go on to spawn the better-known and hugely influential Gamma World, but a lot was already there in this little booklet.

Step one is to choose whether the PC is a human, mutant human, or mutant creature. Humans get an ability called Leadership potential, while mutants get mutations, both physical and mental. I chose to play a mutant human. Step two is abilities, which are 3d6. I get pretty good stats, except for strength. Step three, derived attributes: I don’t get any damage bonus. I roll as many d6 as my constitution value to determine hp, and get 43. Step four, mutations! I roll 1d4 twice, once for my number of physical mutations, and once for mental. I get to choose 1 physical mutation and 1 mental, I was hoping for more but the dice have spoken. I select Electrical generation and Teleportation. Then the GM is supposed to select one defect (negative mutation), either physical or mental. I roll and the die indicates one mental defect. I choose Epilepsy. And that’s it, since as per the rules “mutations start in the forested area of the ship, with no material goods”. 

Milia was shunned by her tribe as a child after teleporting randomly around the village and accidentally electrocuting one of the elders. Since then she’s survived on her own as a semi-ferrall hermit in the woods.

Name: Milia

Abilities: Radiation resistance 17, Mental resistance 13, Dexterity 16, Constitution 13, Strength 8

Armor class: 8

Hit points: 43

Mutations: Electrical generation (3d6), Teleportation, Epilepsy

This entry was posted in Character Creation Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment